New Experiences

Standard

Today was as normal a day than any. I decided, from the night before, to prepare my swim gear for Monday evening with the Ladies.

Normalcy was what I was looking for.

Without much thought I walked towards the waters edge, glancing around at the unrecognizable faces enjoying the afternoon beach. What a beautiful evening at the beach it was, the sand soft and white. The water calm and different shades of blue. The sun not quite ready to set, but it’s colours dashing on the water. All this is hadn’t yet recognized. Many thoughts of the night before dancing in my subconscious.

I decided to get a warm up before I’d meet with the girls. Warm ups would get the blood flowing. Plopped on my swim cap. Adjusted my goggles over my eyes then SPLASH, into the water I went. For a moment I just stopped, limbs not moving, and stared at the clear bottom of the sea bed. My mind went silent. As I watched my limbs floating, I could feel the water caressing my skin. I could actually feel the water.

For the first time in a while, I took in the beauty of the water. The way it holds you as you float or how it hugs your skin as your limbs move in slow motion. It was beautiful indeed.

My warm up was short and sweet and I hadn’t planned on exerting myself this evening. Felt a bit miserable really and decided that I would tell the Ladies that I’m only doing a short recovery swim.
     After my warm up, I saw them. They looked like they needed to relax also. Maybe a hard day. Jenn M wanted to swim a mile. Shit. Well maybe a mile is what I needed. Ok, I’ll swim a mile.

As we swam, like a learned habit, I’d noticed my strokes were one-two-three. Breathe. One-two-three. Breathe. Is this really me? I’d finally got the hang of breathing after every third stroke. Granted I wasn’t going very fast. Still I got it down.
    

After a few minutes swimming, I began noticing a variety of different fish darting across me and others jumping out of the water as they dashed forward. How cool is that? One-two-three. Breathe. My body gliding forward. My mind wasn’t trying to think on the weekends stress. It was blank. Just blank. Nope, not even a thought on whether any sharks were out. Blank. But I guess that is good.

Reached the turnaround point.  Took about 30 seconds. Interestingly I wasn’t panting very hard either. Hmm. Go. Each time I took two seconds to take in air over my right side, I would look at the sky. What a beautiful sun beginning to descend. There seemed to be a bit of dark greyish clouds out. Hope it doesn’t rain.

Mind still blank. But it’s a good thing. The quietness of myself is actually open to experiencing the beauty around me. It was really beautiful, too. I should do this more often. How blessed is this? What’s funny is that I’m actually getting to enjoy Cayman beach. Making the time to enjoy the waters, the sand, the sun setting on the horizon.

This is reason to smile today. Yes,it is.

Leave a Reply

