Running Stitches

Standard

I’ve learned something quite important tonight about stitches.  Tonight,  at 7:00p was the start of our first “Glow Run”. 

It was a 5k race and the excitement in the air was motivating.  My first ever glow run, but a 5k I’m now used to running.  I had not planned on doing a personal best, but was cognizant of my eating and food preparation before the race.

The beginning mile I tried to keep a nice easy pace, and about half-way through the second mile I caught a stitch in my right abdomen.  Normally, I would have stopped and walked through the stitch or just stopped but for some reason I kept going AND kept motivating myself to work through the pain.  It was during his time that I realized that it is just me out on the road, even though I had friends doing the run, this was MY rum.  Every run I do is MINE.  Me on that road, and me to motivate self. 

Having decided to work through the stitch-pain, and motivating myself mentally after a while I realized that the stitch was gone!  I was ecstatic!  All in all I completed the third and final lap AND was able to speed up for the last couple of meters through the finish line.  It felt so GOOD!

So I’ve learnt that sometimes, perhaps more often than not, you have to work through the pain and not focus on the pain itself – you know it’s there – but to focus on moving forward and the finish. 

I am so PROUD of myself tonight! 

Leave a Reply

