A Love Through Imperfections

Standard

There is a song by John Legend called “All of Me”, quite a beautiful song if you’ve ever heard it sung. The song is about one giving themselves fully to another and the one loving all of the others’ imperfections, all of the rough edges.

Whenever I hear this song my emotions would get aroused and I would feel desiring of that kind of love from someone else – to love all of me, all of my imperfections. That kind of promise – to love someone’s imperfections – is easy to sing about and easier to say.

Well, today while in my drive home from work I heard this song on the radio. When the song reached the stanza on loving the imperfections, I began to make a comparison to the real-life imperfections that we all have. I thought, can someone really love all of another’s’ imperfections? If they were to know and see the personality/characteristic issues, the fears, the irrational thoughts, the ADD, the emotional roller coaster, can one love that or is John Legend brushing the reality under the carpet just to sell a good song that people can be emotionally motivated by?

My own opinions, right now, is that you first choose to love the person and not the things they do. Second, I get the feeling that the “imperfections” are those things someone really can’t help, like height or skin colour or certain fears or childhood issues etc. To me love itself is pure and should always be pure and there are some things that if one can help they change within themselves, because of love.

Well, I think it is possible.

When you really consider the implications of this song, you have to conclude that this kind of love is not a surface kind to be easily said or sung – it is quite deep.

Here is John Legends song “All of Me” ;

Leave a Reply

